OSI  model layers in network

The open systems interconnection model determines how communication between computers on a network should take place.

The open system interconnection  model is a set of guidelines that describes the process that should take place when two computers communicate on a network.

The OSI model is also  a standard that determines how network hardware and software should be designed to censure they are able to work together on a network.

The  OSI model contains seven layers that describe the tasks that must be carried out to communicate on a network .

When data is being sent over a network, it must pass through each layer of the OSI  model.

As the data passes through each layer Information is  added to the data .

When the data reaches the  destination, the data must again pass through the layers of the must again pass through the layers of the OSI model.

The additional information is removed at each layer.

Application layer in osi model

The application layer is responsible for transferring information between  the programs running on a computer and the services running on a network, such as data base or print services.

Presentation layer

The presentation layer  converts information from one format to another.

Session layers

The session layer determines how two devices communicate. This layer establishes and monitors connections between computers.

Transport layer

The transport layer checks for errors  transmission and make sure that information delivered reliably.

Network layer

The network layer identifies computers on a network and determines how to direct information transferring over a network.

Data link layer

The data link layer groups data into sets to prepare the data for transferring over a network.

Physical layer

The physical  layer determines how a transmission medium, such as a cable, connects to computer. This layer also specifies how electrical information transfers on the transmission medium.